In partnership with CBSSports.com
The place to talk about the Florida State Seminoles
The place to discuss general topics outside of Florida State
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
He threw a completely LEGAL forward pass.
Intentional grounding? Maybe, though it did look like he had a tight end near the pass. But it wasn't an illegal forward pass.
Are you referring to Freeman? If so, you're right, it wasn't an illegal forward pass, it was a safety.
The Future is Now.
I had never heard of that rule. If we were to run a HB pass out of the endzone, would that have been an illegal forward pass. It seems, according to the rule, only the QB can throw from the endzone. We all know he was throwing it away, I get that, but he was outside the tackle box, he took a handoff, he didn't catch a forward pass, so it wasn't the 2nd forward pass in the play, and there was a TE in the area, I don't get what is illegal about it. Had the TE actually caught it, would it still have been an illegal forward pass? The rule makes no sense to me.
"A Seminole warrior killed in battle is a legend remembered. A Gator lost in battle becomes a pair of boots and a belt. "
I am pretty sure it is a safety if you do not throw the ball past the line of scrimmage when you are in the end zone.
"Sometimes when you bring the thunder, you get lost in the storm." -Kenny Powers
Which would more than likely be intentional grounding, not illegal forward pass
You cannot have intentional grounding without a safety if you are in the end zone.
It should have been called intentional grounding not an illegal forward pass.
But would that make it an "illegal forward pass"? That would make it grounding, right?
They didn't call intentional grounding though, they called illegal forward pass, which is totally different, especially since the ball landed near the TE's feet, an eligible receiver.
If anything, it was intentional grounding. But he doesn't HAVE to throw it past the line of scrimmage if there is an eligible receiver in the vicinity.
I just don't know where they pulled illegal forward pass from. I'm still puzzled, but I think it really worked in our favor. Better to give up the 2 than to punt it out of our own end zone.
Agree about the 2 vs the field position. Boneheaded play, but I think it worked out for us in the end in reality.
Suspend the refs
get your shit right or GTFO
Life is good. Now lets go win another championship.
and I know this maaaaan!
I agree that it wasn't an illegal forward pass. Maybe the Refs said it wrong when they called the penalty. It definitely was a safety.
I am pretty sure the rule states that you have to throw the ball past the line of the scrimmage if you are in the end zone regardless if someone is in the vicinity.
Not sure what rule that is .... it's definitely not an NFHS rule, and I'd be surprised if it was an NCAA rule.
Unless the rules have changed from when I played (could have it's been almost 20 years now) high school football, it was called correctly. When EJ handed it to Freeman, he handed it off forward. At that point the ball can not be thrown forward, only lateralled. You can only "move the ball forward" once on a play, whether by hand off or pass.
If EJ would have handed the ball off behind then Freeman would have been free to throw the ball forward. The result of the play, a safety, is unquestionably the right call.
Any comic fans out there, check out Tart, written by a Seminole Grad, who is incidentally... me.
A player can hand the ball off forward or backward and still pass the ball. A hand off is not considered a forward pass, thus the pass itself was legal.
The call should have been a safety because of grounding in the endzone. Our RB was basically "down" in the endzone.
I stand corrected.
not really...it sounded good LOL.....but I called someone at FSU and that is their response......
It was the correct outcome no matter the language used.
I think the call SHOULD have been ineligible receiver down field due to the fact he tried to pass it on a running play where OL were past the line of scrimmage. Not intentional grounding or illegal forward pass but ineligible receiver down field.
Behind the line of scrimmage is all that matters. Handing off forwards, backwards, or sideways is irrelevant.
You can run a flea flicker on a inside handoff. But like a previous poster said... if it's a running play by design, it's a guarantee your OL will be past the neutral zone, making them ineligible receivers.
This post was edited by FsuFanForever 20 months ago
It was Ron Cherry. We're lucky he didn't say: Giving him the business in the end-zone, the result is a safety.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports