Online Now 800


The place to talk about the Florida State Seminoles

Online now 229
Record: 5859 (2/14/2012)

Boards ▾


The place to talk about the Florida State Seminoles

Off The Reservation

The place to discuss general topics outside of Florida State


FSU commitment among High School 2012 Butkus Award Semifinalists

  • Chris Nee

    Collegiate and high school semi-finalists were announced today for the 28th Annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation's top football linebackers. Nominees are posted at

    The 12 collegiate semi-finalists include two returning nominees. Meanwhile, the 12 high school semi-finalists are from 11 states, with two from Florida. Finalists will be announced November 20 and winners will be announced by December 4. Meanwhile, the professional winner will be announced in early 2013.

    The Butkus Award honors outstanding linebackers at three levels of play, while spreading the word about the I Play Clean™ initiative, which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude, instead of resorting to performance-enhancing drugs. More information is available at or at

    "This Award is about honoring linebackers at all levels, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to serve as role models and to give back to society," said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker.

    Collegiate 2012 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:
    Steve Beauharnais - Rutgers
    Arthur Brown - Kansas State
    Jonathan Brown - Illinois
    Max Bullough - Michigan State
    Gerald Hodges - Penn State
    Jarvis Jones* - Georgia
    Dion Jordan - Oregon
    Michael Mauti - Penn State
    Kevin Minter - LSU
    C.J. Mosley - Alabama
    Trent Murphy - Stanford
    Manti Te'o* - Notre Dame
    * Denotes 2011 Semi-Finalist

    High School 2012 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:
    Alex Anzalone - Wyomissing, Pa.
    Chans Cox - Blue Ridge, Lakeside, Ariz.
    Michael Deeb - American Heritage, Plantation, Fla.
    Reuben Foster - Auburn, Ala.
    James Hearns - Lincoln, Tallahassee, Fla.
    Trey Johnson - Central Gwinnett, Lawrenceville, Ga.
    Peter Kalambayi - Butler, Matthews, N.C.
    E.J. Levenberry - C.D. Hylton, Woodbridge, Va.
    Courtney Love - Cardinal Mooney, Youngstown, Ohio
    Isaac Savaiinaea - Punahou, Honolulu, Hawaii
    Jaylon Smith - Bishop Luers, Fort Wayne, Ind.
    Tim Williams - Univ. Laboratory School, Baton Rouge, La.

    Chris Nee of You can follow me on twitter @CNee247.

  • Congrats to EJ...and congrats to FSU (because I had to read the article to see WHICH linebacker commitment)